top of page

The roots of the Public Relations Association of Mississippi extend back to 1956 when communications professionals in Jackson formed what is now the Central chapter of the association. PRAM expanded beyond Jackson in 1978 with the establishment of the Golden Triangle chapter in Columbus and again in 1981 with the formation of the Gulf Coast chapter in Pascagoula. Today, the association has 9 chapters.


In the 1960s, PRAM began co-sponsoring an annual Southern Public Relations Conference with the Public Relations Council of Alabama. At the 10th annual conference in 1973, PRAM and PRCA, with representatives from Louisiana and Florida, officially created the Southern Public Relations Federation. PRAM member Neal W. Cirlot, of Jackson, was elected as the inaugural chairman of the board. Mississippi delegates appointed to the board were Louise Risher, Orby Patton, Bob Sharman and William G. Taylor (alternate).

SPRF, along with eight other regional and national public relations organizations, is a participating member of the Universal Accreditation Board (UAB), the national body which administers the Accreditation in Public Relations (APR) mark.

bottom of page